Jesus Helps Us Even with the Small Things — Luke 14

As I studied Luke 14:7-14, I wondered why Jesus, the Son of God, showed concern about actions that most would consider just plain commonsense and good etiquette. I don’t know anyone who would rush up to sit at a head table uninvited, but in Jesus’ day similar actions must have become quite common among the rich and famous. Then, it occurred to me that this incident shows how Jesus cares about both the big things and the small things and wants to help us with all things. Jesus even cares about the small things that might embarrass the rich and famous and the big things that can make a life and death difference to the poor, the crippled, the lame, the blind, and others. Jesus cares about the rich and the poor, the big things and the little things, and will help us with all things.

On one level, Jesus wants to protect His followers from doing what would embarrass them. He wants them to develop and use good commonsense, and if they need wisdom then they can ask Jesus for the wisdom they need in both big and small situations. James wrote, If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him” (James 1:5).

On another level, Jesus wants His followers to remain humble, even if they become rich and famous. If we do something worthy of note, it is far better for others to notice than for us to strive for and actively solicit their praises. One of my friends used to say: “Blessed are those who pat themselves on the back for fear no one else will.” What we have done may sometimes lead to deserved success and praise from others, with our giving all the glory to Jesus who helped us win the prize, or get the promotion, or a receive a pay raise. This may seem like a small thing, but Jesus wants to help us with the small things too. Jesus loves us so much that He wants to help us with everything we plan and do.